Fics2Flicks

Beautiful Bombshell Giveaway Plus Sexy Q and A with Christina Lauren

Leave a comment

In celebration of the release of the new novella in their Beautiful Bastard series, Beautiful Bombshell, we had a chance to interview the authors, Christina and Lo, who make up the writing team known as Christina Lauren. Our topic is very central to their popular book series and the upcoming movie adaptation of Beautiful Bastard.

This was such a fun interview, and we hope you’ll enjoy!

Q&A with Christina Lauren…Let’s talk about sex, baby! 

kitt Q: Risk is a huge part of the sexual encounters between Chloe and Bennett in Beautiful Bastard. Which encounter do you think was the most risque?

CL: They’re such idiots at the beginning, and that’s by design. These are people who would normally not do anything so crazy. It’s the dynamic between them that makes them do all of these really risky things.

In terms of potential to get caught, probably the stairwell scene when they were at work. Can you even imagine? Someone could have easily found them, and there is literally nowhere to hide. But in terms of risky emotionally (as in, intimate before they’re ready for it), definitely the car chapter. In that one, they’re not only in a confined space physically, but they have some bare emotional moments, too, and at that point it’s still pretty scary territory.

kitt Q: Sometimes the location of the sex is the most unique part of the encounter. The last ‘sex in a dressing room’ scene I saw in a movie was in The Sweetest Thing, and it was meant to be comical. The scene in the dressing room of La Perla is so specific to the story that I hope it makes it into the movie!

CL: We’ve definitely had the conversation with Constantin about what needs to stay in the movie adaptation. I think we’re all pretty much on the same page about what scenes are iconic to the story. They’re really in tune with these characters and their shenanigans. (A/N: We think that means we’re getting that hot dressing room scene!)

Lisa Q: There is just something to be said about firsts, which is why I have a soft spot (wet spot?) for floor-to-ceiling windows in a particular conference room. Needless to say, I’m hoping that it’s the first time we, and the fine folks of Chicago, get to watch Chloe and Bennett having sex on the big screen.

CL: Again, this has definitely been discussed. We can’t imagine an iteration of this book-to-movie that doesn’t have the conference room . . . (A/N: sweet spot)

kitt & Lisa Q: Which encounter do you think has the potential to be the hottest scene in the film adaptation of Beautiful Bastard?

From what we’ve heard, every scene is pretty stunning. We really can’t wait to share how Stephanie (Sanditz, the screenwriter) has lassoed this crazy book into a screenplay. But the conference room has a lot of potential, honestly. The story really starts out with a bang (ha!) and sets the tone for the entire book/movie.

kitt & Lisa Q: What unique places do we have to look forward to in Beautiful Bombshell?

Beautiful Bombshell takes place in Las Vegas during Bennett’s bachelor party weekend, so the boys visit some of our favorite locations. And just like Red Moon in Stranger, Black Heart—the club they visit in the opening chapter of Bombshell—is a creation of our very own.

kitt Q: Wow, this totally shows my age, but for me, Patrick Swayze had memorable onscreen sex scenes from the dancing in Dirty Dancing, to the pottery making in Ghost, to the stone fireplace in Road House.

CL: And it’s definitely true that BASTARD has a great chance to have some of those iconic locations as well. Truly, in some ways we think it will make an even better film than book. High fives on the Dirty Dancing shout out too. I swear I wore out my videotape of that one. (Yes, videotape. #old)

kitt Q: Do you guys find that you are a fan of one particular actor’s love scenes? If so, who?

CL: Honestly we haven’t seen a single actor in more than one role too often. We loved Kit Harington’s cave scene in Game of Thrones with “the Lord’s kiss” – dear god. Max Irons in The White Queen, no matter how short lived . . . the butt thrusting will forever be burned in our memories. The list could go on forever, honestly. Lo will take bare Khal Drogo ass scenes any day of the week. Christina seconds that x’s infinity. Also, the scene with Nicholas Hoult (Skins UK-season 2, episode 6. You know, just off the top of my head) kills me dead every. single. time. You all know what I’m talking about.

Lisa Q: I’m realizing I have a thing for going vertical in onscreen sex scenes: in front of a pair of glass doors in Risky Business, the stone fireplace in Road House, the foyer in The Notebook, the hallway in Remember Me… I’m sure I’ll be adding the aforementioned conference room in Beautiful Bastard to this list in the near future.

CL:  We hope!! We get a little breathless just thinking about it. (A/N: The thought makes our wings all aflutter, too!)

kitt & Lisa Q: What are your absolute favorite love/sex scenes from movies?

Christina: Does any scene get hotter than The Notebook? Also, I can remember watching the sex scene in Legends of the Fall between Brad Pitt and Julia Ormond where she’s gripping the iron rails of the headboard and thinking holeeee cow. (A/N: We agree The Notebook was it’s own brand of hot!)

Lo: It’s funny because even though I write really smutty books, and I like reading smutty books, the movies I love most tend to have more emotional traction than sexual. Like, I’ll watch the Emma Thompson/Hugh Grant scene at the end in Sense and Sensibility a million times and get choked up every time. But for pure hotness in film? Check out Black Snake Moan with Justin Timberlake and Christina Ricci. I don’t love the movie itself but damn that scene is good. I think television has more of my favorite sexy scenes though (Game of Thrones, Skins, etc).

kitt Q: Seeing sex on the big screen isn’t just a visual experience. Music can add to it, too! Unchained Melody being played in Ghost is one of my favorites. What are yours?

Lo: The entire Garden State soundtrack made that movie for me. That’s the one I always remember. I love every single song there. When I think about what I’d like for the BB soundtrack, that’s what I want.  A soundtrack that fits the movie so perfectly, but every song is good enough to stand on its own.

kitt Q: When you envision your favorite sex scene for Beautiful Bastard the movie, does it play out perfectly with music or without—a song or just background music?

Lo:  Oooh, good question. I think music can add to it, but I sort of hope there’s at least one scene where the sounds and their words are the only things the audience hears. It makes it intimate, almost bare, but I think that would be amazing. Christina doesn’t tend to listen to music when she writes, but I do, and while writing BASTARD I listened to a lot of The XX, Tricky, and Animal Collective. I’m not sure how any of those would translate for film, but I’m inclined to say it would be better for writing than the scenes in the actual movie. The music needs to balance sex with energy and fire. My playlist always needs to be something I can loop over and over that lets me get into a certain mindset.

kitt Q: If any current recording artist or band could write a sexy love song for Chloe and Bennett to be used in the movie, who would you like that to be? (My vote would be for Maroon 5!)

Lo: This is a nearly impossible question because if you’re asking for me to pick a band I want to write a song for our book/movie, it’s probably very different than the band that would write the most fitting song for the movie adaptation. Truly, I have no idea, but if I had to combine both desires, I would go back to my grad school loves and have Hooverphonic write something. If that happened, I could die happy. Mad About You is a good one to get the vibe. 😉

Fics2Flicks tracks divider

beautiful-bombshell

Available today.

Click here to order!!

Synopsis:  When Bennett’s friends steal him away from Chloe for a weekend of shenanigans and strippers in Vegas, their first stop doesn’t exactly go as planned. Their scheme for a guys’ weekend completely derailed, Bennett and Max take every chance they get to rendezvous secretly with the women they love. But when the persistently single Will Sumner catches on, the pair realizes they need to team up with him instead of butting heads if they’re to escape for more sexy Vegas hookups.

Beautiful Bastard’s Chloe Mills and Bennett Ryan are back for one last blazing prewedding hurrah- -but if what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, they might not ever want to leave!

Fics2Flicks tracks divider

A stellar Thank You to the beautiful team of Christina & Lo for agreeing to take part in our risque conversation and for allowing us to give away TWO copies of Beautiful Bombshell!

Here’s all you have to do to enter:

  1. Follow us on Twitter here.
  2. Follow Christina on Twitter here.
  3. Follow Lauren on Twitter here.
  4. Follow Beautiful Bastard on Twitter here.
  5. Copy, paste, and tweet the following message:
  • I’m following @fics2flicks @seeCwrite & @lolashoes for a chance to win a paperback copy of #BeautifulBombshell. #F2Fbomb

Not on Twitter? Just leave us a message in the comments that you’d like to be entered in the giveaway!

We’ll choose the winner via Random.org from qualified entries on Saturday, September 7th. Good luck!

christinalaurenauthors

Website | Christina on Twitter| Lauren on Twitter | Beautiful Bastard on Twitter |Facebook | Goodreads

Fics2Flicks signature tracks right

Leave a Reply

